The Reaccreditation Process
Safe Communities America, Inc. is the
non-profit, coordinating and accrediting
organization for Safe Communities in
the United States.


Safe Communities accreditation is valid for five years, though the board of Safe Communities America, Inc. may approve short extensions of a community's accreditation due to exceptional circumstances.  To remain accredited, communities must file an application for reaccreditation at least six months - but no more than twelve months - prior to the end of their accreditation period.  The application is similar to the initial application for accreditation and is designed to verify that the community continues to meet the international standards for Safe Community accreditation. 

Reaccreditation is similar to the initial accreditation process, but the application fee for reaccreditation is lower than the fee for initial accreditation and the application review is typically less detailed.  Site visits are often not required for reaccreditation, if the community has demonstrated ongoing adherence to the accreditation standards.  If an accredited community fails to apply for reaccreditation and then seeks to renew its accreditation at a later time, the community may be required to repeat the full accreditation application process.